Marriage

How to Have the Perfect Wedding

This isn’t going to be your typical wedding post, as we are anything but a typical couple. Our wedding was one hundred percent absolutely perfect in every sense of the word. I am married to the perfect husband for me and the most important people in our lives got to share it with us. What could be more perfect than that?

Our engagement was the most romantic moment. Get ready to swoon. It was about 9:30 PM on June 12, the day we closed on our first home. I had taken the day off to clean, work on, and paint the new house and Will had been working hard to move all of our belongings from the old house. It was about time to finish up for the night and get dinner, so I was in the bathroom trying to scrub the paint off my hands. Will came back from getting the last load of heavy items from the old house, and when I popped out from washing my hands – he held up a little wooden box and said “what do you think about this?” I said YES!

Two days later, we FaceTimed to let my family know the big news. From there, the whirlwind started! On July 4th weekend, my parents and best friend came up to celebrate my birthday (and help us install new flooring in our house – Thanks, Dad!). I decided to take mom by a museum that I thought might be a pretty place to get married. Well, it turned out they had an opening on November 20th. Will wanted a fall wedding and I knew I wanted my anniversary date to be on the 20th – my parents is July 20 and my brother and sister-in-love’s is February 20! I said YES!

The next morning, I had set an appointment to shop for wedding dresses. The dress came as a surprise. I had chosen the style that I thought I wanted – and I had tried on several dresses. I had on what I thought was the dress and just wanted to borrow the slip from one of the other dresses which was a bit of a darker color. When she brought out the dress that had the café-colored slip: I had that magic moment! This is the only part of wedding planning that I will say was just like tv. I really did know the dress was “the one” when I saw it. I tried it on and my mom, my aunt, and my BFF loved it too. I said YES!

While looking for shoes at NordRack, the cutest blush dresses caught my eye. I tried one on myself, sent a quick pic to my two bridesmaids (best friend and sister-in-love), and they loved them! Headed over to the little girls section and found a matching flower girl dress with sparkles. Luckily, I married a man with excellent fashion sense. He completely took care of the groom’s side clothing wise from the ties to the shoes! Wedding party, done!

Photos by KeshiaMyrick0409.jpg

There are so few decisions to be made when all you really care about is marrying the love of your life. The venue let us pick from two caterers and there was a cake store right next door to the one we picked. Food – done. Our photographer’s mom is a florist. Flowers – done. The music minister at my parent’s church and very dear friend of my parents, Robin, agreed to sing our first dance song and my very musical husband made a playlist for the rest of the evening. Music – done. Centerpieces – let’s have donuts instead. Done.

We felt it would be best to request that instead of buying us gifts, our guests considered making a donation to something that truly matters. We did this simply to tell our family that all that matters to us is your love. We wanted our wedding to be a celebration and a blessing to others – not a stressful time for people to dote on us but a time to join together with those most important to us and look toward the future with happy hearts.

As far as the actual wedding day, I was late to the venue and I’m sure more than one thing didn’t go exactly right… the donuts were late, the playlist got high-jacked by my nieces (which is for the best because they are way cooler than me and did I mention that I don’t even know how to dance?), my dad got sick and changed out of his suit into jeans and a t-shirt (which is so totally my dad that I didn’t even think it was weird), some of our guests had to leave early for long drives home, but we danced, we laughed, we cried, we hugged, and we celebrated love. Not just the love between us but the love that has supported us along the way, the shining examples of love that we are lucky to call family, and the love of friends who have become our chosen family.

So if you’re asking me, the secret to having a perfect wedding is to decide that your wedding is going to be perfect exactly as it happens. A huge thank you to my grandpa who blessed us with the perfect words for our marriage: I take you as my beloved.

wedding everyone

 

 

Leave a comment