Just for Fun

$4 flag for the 4th of July

Fourth of July has always been my favorite holiday… fireworks, sunshine, and four days before my birthday! This year, I wanted to do something special for the 4th of July. Several of my neighbors had some cool decorations out, so I decided to make a flag for our front flowerbed (since there will probably never be plants there).

It was one of the easiest things I have ever done, and I got lots of compliments on it, so I thought I would share with you all!

Supplies:

  • Pallet – $0
    These are pretty easy to find for free – my husband brought mine home from work, but places like Home Depot and Lowe’s have them as well.
  • Paint – $2.70
    I used Anita’s paint from Hobby Lobby which is  normally .77 and was on sale for 30% off. I used two red, two white, and one blue! You can use classic rw&b or mix it up and pick some bright variations of these colors!
  • Stencil – $1.19
    I picked up an adorable flag stencil (reg. $1.99 and used the 40% off hobby lobby coupon). There was also one with funky-shaped stars which would be totally cute for those of you who are not as Type A as me.
  • Paint Brushes – $0
    Most crafters have paintbrushes laying around the house! If not, the cheap-o ones from Hobby Lobby work just fine!

I chose to cut my pallet down leaving five planks so that I could have red on the top and red on the bottom like the American flag. I measured enough space to repeat my stencil twice, and that made up the blue portion of the flag.

flag craft

 

There you have it – easy and cheap, but a huge visual impact! I plan to leave this out all summer! Then maybe I’ll figure out how to make a cute pallet Christmas tree!

 

Leave a Reply

